Jean Stafford

1950 – Born on January the 1st in Latrobe, Tasmania. Jean spent her early years in the hills of Meander, Northern Tasmania, where she learnt her craft as a budding country singer performing at local hotels country halls and dances. 

1962 - She enjoyed TV exposure from the age of 12 when she quested in the earliest days of television in Northern Tasmania in the popular “Show-Time” series from TNT-9.

1965 – Began her recording career when she joined Dusty Rankin on several duets on his first Hadley album.

1970 – Her recording career began with the release on Hadley Records of a duet with Dusty Rankin. She followed this with a further track on Dusty’s second release “Family Bible.”
More exposure came with two solo tracks on “Country Music Around Australia Vol. 1.” Released 5 albums on Hadley.

1975 – Golden Guitar for Female Vocalist of the Year with “What Kind of a Girl Do You Think I Am?

1979 – Inducted into the Hands of Fame.

1980 - Golden Guitar for Female Vocalist of the Year with “Hello Love”.

1981 - Golden Guitar for Female Vocalist of the Year with “That Glory Bound Train”.

1986 - Jean was immortalized in the “Australian Waxworks of Stars” in Tamworth NSW.

1988 - Jean headlined the Auckland Gold Guitar Awards where she was presented with an award for “Services to the Industry of Country Music”. Jean made four tours to New Zealand, twice to the North Island that included appearances at the New Zealand Golden Guitar Awards at Hastings, and a successful 30-day tour of the South Island.

1989 - Jean Stafford was officially Crowned Australia’s QUEEN of COUNTRY MUSIC by the industry and fans, in Sydney by the late Mr. Clive A’Rundle, and Country Music Legend, Smoky Dawson

1991 - Mo Awards for Female Country Performer of the Year. “Artist of the Year” by the fans of Australia.

1996 - South Australian Country Music Festival Awards- Inducted into the Hall of Fame.

1998 - Recorded a single with Kitty Wells and appeared on the Queens of Country Show in Queensland.

2008 – Elevated to the Roll of Renown.

2012 – April. Inducted into “Tasmania's Axemans Wall of Fame” in Latrobe, alongside fellow artists Phil Emmanuel and Wayne Horsburgh.