Norma O'Hara MURPHY (1989)

Norma O'Hara Murphy

Born on the 28th of June and raised in the Murray Valley region of country Victoria; where her mother's family, of Irish decent, were pioneers of the area. Her two great passions in life, aside from family, have always been her horses and her music.

1982 - Norma's first album, “Rodeo Queen”, was released through Country Records.

1985 – Released “Vanishing Horsemen” on Selection Records.

1986 - Norma won her first Golden Guitar in the Heritage Award category, with "How the Fire Queen Crossed The Swamp.

1987 – Released “River Gums & Mallee Dust” on Selection Records which contained a duet with John Williamson, "When We Were Kids", which won Media Song Of The Year in 1988.

1988 – Signed with Festival Records.

1989 – Released “Colours”. Inducted into the Hands of Fame.

1990 – Released “Closer Now”.

1991 – Released “Norma's Best”. Won Golden Guitar for Female Vocalist of the Year, with "Sarah's Memory"

1993 – Released “Winds Of Change”. Won Golden Guitar for Female Vocalist of the year with "Tamworth The Song".

1995 – Signed with Larrikin Records and recorded her eighth album, “Sweet Rain”. Toured China, Japan, Germany, England and Ireland.

1998 - South Australian Country Music Festival Awards- Inducted into the Hall of Fame. Inducted into the Wall of Fame "A Tribute to the Women of Country Music" for outstanding achievement and contribution to the country music industry. Originally present by the South Tamworth Bowling Club, the "Wall" is now house at the Hall of Fame

1999 - Produced and released her ninth album, “Live In Bundaberg”, through her own label Gumleaf Music.

2001 – Won the Golden Guitar for Bush Ballad with "Paddy William" sung by Slim Dusty.

2003 - Won the Golden Guitar for Bush Ballad with "An Old Cattle Dog" sung by Slim Dusty.